LibGuides: Nursing: Point-Of-Care Resources

Point-Of-Care Databases

Point-of-care tools are research and reference resources that a clinician/provider utilizes immediately at the point-of-care with a patient or client.

TRIP
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching.
ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). Personal account required.

Please note that these search results are outside of the library's collection. If you find a resource behind a paywall, use the library to access the full text or to interlibrary loan the item.

Nursing Reference Center is a point-of-care resource designed for the practicing nurse, as well as nursing administrators, nursing faculty, nursing students, and librarians. Users can search to discover "CINAHL Nursing Guides" which include quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, patient education materials, practice guidelines, and more. Also included is drug information from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses and AHFS Drug Information Essentials. Browse and search popular reference resources to access additional quick information in support of clinical questions on lab tests, diseases, drugs, care plans, assessment data, and much more

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus is committed to educating nurses about evidence-based medicine and nursing best practices. As a part of that effort, Nursing Reference Center Plus focuses on ensuring that staff nurses, nurse educators, recent nursing graduates, and nursing students have quick and easy access to the most current information to provide the best care possible to their patients.

Point-Of-Care Drug Information

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses (2023) by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2022-05-18
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition (2023) delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names.

DailyMed
The National Library of Medicine (NLM)’s DailyMed searchable database provides the most recent labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies and currently in use (i.e., "in use" labeling). DailyMed contains labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, cosmetics, dietary supplements, and medical foods.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
A nursing-focused drug handbook. Available as part of Nursing Reference Center Plus.
LactMed (Drugs and Lactation Database)
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, supplements, and herbs. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
PDR: Prescribers' Digital Reference
Free access to the current drug prescribing information (formerly Physician's Desk Reference)