Nursing

The Cullom-Davis Library at Bradley University provides access to full-text articles. Do not pay for access to articles. There are a few ways to get the full text.

1. Look for the "full-text" or PDF link in the database. 

2. Use the "Get it @ BU" or "Access Options" link to view options on how to access the full text. You will be automatically directed to 1 of 3 options:

1. Full text is available in another database (you'll be directed to immediate access)
2. "Get it Now"- submit a request for the article, and within a few hours, you will receive the PDF file of the article via email.
3. "InterLibrary Loan" or ILLiad- submit the request, and you are notified by email when you can access the full text in the ILLiad system, or you receive an email with the file of the article. This usually takes a few days. (How do I get an article through interlibrary loan?)

Use all options to access the full text you need for your project/assignment. There is no additional cost to use these services. 

Search tips

Before requesting an item through interlibrary loan, do a quick Google search to determine if there is an open-access version. 

Add the LibKey Nomad browser extension to your computer. The extension creates a quick way to access the literature you discover on the web by connecting you to library resources and services. It also adds special enhancements to PubMed, Wikipedia, and other websites and databases. 

Use the customized for Bradley PubMed link for the "Get it @ BU" links to display. 

Use the customized Bradley Google Scholar for the "Get it @ BU" links to display. 

Requesting Physical Items

I-Share is the system you use to request items from other libraries.  Instructions on how to place requests for items through I-Share can be found here or you can contact the Research Help Desk for help.  You will be notified once the item has arrived at the library, then you can pick up the item(s) at the Check Out Desk using your Bradley ID during regular business hours. 

Getting Full-Text Articles 

If you encounter an article that doesn't have full-text (PDF) available, there are steps you can take to find access or request the full text from the library.

• If you are in a library database, click on the Get it @ Bradley button or a link that says "Check full text availability." This should take you tot he item's library record. You will see your options for access to the full text. There are 3 possibilities:
  1. There is a link to a journal package and the link should take you to the article.
  2. There is a link that states 'Request through Interlibrary Loan...',
  3. there is a link that states 'BU can buy the article.'

'Request through Interlibrary Loan' uses ILLiad. If you have never used ILLiad, follow these instructions for using ILLiad.

'BU can buy the article" uses Get It Now which requires you to enter your BU email.