Book Type |
Description |
|---|---|
General Collection and Oversized |
A print book in the library's collection. Can be checked out for 28 days (plus renewals) using your BU ID card. |
eBooks |
An electronic book that can be accessed online anywhere you have an Internet connection. Some e-books in the collection allow for multiple users and others only allow one user at a time. |
Reference Books and eBooks |
A reference book is a resource to get specific facts of an overview of a subject. Reference resources are used to get the background information you need on a subject. Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, handbooks, almanacs, and bibliographies. Print reference books cannot be checked out. eBook reference material can be used anywhere you have an Internet connection. |
Reserve Books |
Items on reserve in the library are high-use items. They are materials directly related to coursework from faculty members. |
Special Collection |
Special Collection books are items that are rare, unique, and/or historical. Most of these items do not circulate but can be viewed in the library. |
Collect background information on your topic using the Nursing Reference Center Plus database. The information found in these documents provides foundational knowledge on a variety of topics which will help you define your research question and what information you will need. You can also use the references listed at the end of the CINAHL Nursing Guides to find primary and secondary sources on your topic.
Nursing point-of-care and reference tool.
Nursing Reference Center Plus contains a variety of resources including “Quick Lessons,” “Evidence Based Care Sheets,” “Patient Handouts,” and more that are only available in this database. There is not a standard format from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) that exactly fits this information.
Adapt the UpToDate citation style to fit the CINAHL Nursing Guides.
For example:
Heering, H. R. C., & Schub, T. B. (2018). Thromboembolism, Venous. [CINAHL Nursing Guide, Quick Lesson] Retrieved April 22, 2022, from https://search.ebscohost.
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy! by 
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy by 
LWW Health Library: Made Incredibly Easy! provides a digital learning tool for nurses. It includes content from all the Made Incredibly Easy books plus nursing care plans, audio & video files, chapter games, and case files.
"Made Incredibly Easy!" ebook collection.
Ebooks for nursing, allied health and medicine topics.
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects in the medicine and health.
Bradley's library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize books. All books that cover medicine are in the R section and nursing books specifically are in the RT section.
Below is a breakdown of where different specialties are located within this classification system:
RT23 Communication in Nursing (also: RT86)
RT24 Nursing Authorship
RT31 History of Nursing
RT41 Medical-Surgical Nursing
RT42 General nursing topics, includes basic nursing texts, Nursing Interventions Classification
RT48 Nursing Assessment / Nursing Diagnosis
RT50.5 Nursing Informatics
RT73-79 Nursing Schools
RT81.5 Nursing Research
RT82.8 Nurse Practitioners
RT84.5 Nursing Theory, Nursing Models
RT85 Nursing Ethics
RT85.5 Nursing Standards includes Nursing Outcomes Classification
RT86.54 Transcultural nursing
RT89 Nursing Administration
RT97-98 Community Health Nursing / Public Health Nursing
RT120.C45 Chronic Disease Nursing
RT120.E4 Emergency Nursing
RT120.F34 Family Nursing
RT120.H65 Home Nursing, Visiting Nurses
RT120.I5 Intensive Care Nursing
RT120.R4 Rehabilitation Nursing
Areas Related to Nursing
R121 Medical dictionaries
R726.8 Hospice care
R858-859.7 Medical informatics
RB37 Diagnostic and laboratory tests
RB115 Nomenclature (procedural coding - CPT, ICD9)
RC69-71 Diagnosis
RC86.7 Emergency medicine
RC266 Oncology nursing
RC952-954.6 Geriatrics
RD93-98 Wound care
RD753 Orthopedic nursing
RG951 Maternal child nursing / Obstetrical nursing
RJ245 Pediatric nursing
RM216 Nutrition and diet therapy
RM301.12 Drug guides
