The library catalog is the place to search for books, ebooks, streaming videos, and other physical items in the library's collection. The library catalog can also search the I-Share catalog so you can request books from other libraries.
There are 3 common ways to search for articles
1. In the library's catalog you can search using the "Articles" tab or search filter.
2. The library has a large collection of databases that contain articles. So to find articles, you can search in specific databases. Each database contains different information so select a database that fits the topic you are investigating. You can use the A to Z List (linked below) to view all the databases alphabetically or by subject, type, or vendor/provider.
If you are not sure which database to choose, try one of the most popular databases listed on the A to Z List. Or you can ask your subject specialist for guidance.
3. Many people search the web for articles using a search engine or Google Scholar. One problem with searching the web for articles is that you may come across paywalls. Use the library's collection and interlibrary loan services to access the full text of the articles you find. (See the "Recommended Tools" section of this guide for linking your Google Scholar account to the library).
If the library doesn't have the book or article you want, you can request the item through the library's interlibrary loan (ILL) service. This is a free service for BU students, faculty, and staff.
To request a book, use I-Share (within the library's catalog). To request an article, use ILLiad. For directions on how to do this and more information about ILL, see the links below.