Library Collections and Centers
All the items in the library's physical and digital space make up the library collection. However, these collections are also divided into smaller collections for specific needs including
- General Collection- The General Collection is the largest collection in the library. It is located in the basement.
- Special Collections Center- The Virginius H. Chase Special Collections Center holds material owned by the university. It is located on the third floor.
- Sports Communication Resource Center- This collection is a part of Special Collections and focuses on the history of sports communication in America. It is located on the third floor. The center is open by appointment only.
- Curriculum Materials Center- This collection is comprised of materials and resources for preschool through high school educators and students studying education. It is located on the second floor.
- Music Resource Center- This collection is a collection of CDs and music scores. It is located in the basement. To access the collection, ask at the checkout desk.
- Reference- These books are encyclopedias, dictionaries, factbooks, etc. It is located on the main floor of the library.
- Government Information- The library is a part of the Federal Depository Library Program and is one of the Illinois Depository Libraries. This collection is located on the main floor.
- New Books- This collection includes best-selling books, both fiction and non-fiction. It is located on the main floor of the library.
- Graphic Novels- This collection is a subset of the many graphic novels. The Graphic Novel collection is located on the main floor of the library with more graphic novels within the General Collection.
- DVDs- The DVD collection contains DVDs and Blu-Ray discs. It is located in the basement. DVD drives and headphones are available for checkout if needed.
Additionally, monthly book displays are created around specific topics.
