Start your search by deciding which keywords to use and how to combine these keywords into a search query (the string of words entered in the search box).
You are probably familiar with using the search engine Google. When you search in Google, it puts an "and" between each word entered into the search box. For most databases, you will have to tell the database how you want the words to be combined. This is done with Boolean Operators which are "AND," "OR" and "NOT." These words tell the database how you want the search terms to be combined.
AND - combines terms so that both terms must appear in the item to appear in the results list
OR - expands the terms so that one of the terms must appear in the item to appear in the results list. Use this for synonyms or alternative spellings. Think OR means mORe.
NOT - excludes the terms so that if the term appears in the item it will not appear in the results list.
Enter your keywords and place one of these Boolean Operators between them to make a search query.
Examples:
Watch the video below for more information.
Search strategy template
Concept 1 (__________________________ OR __________________________)
AND Concept 2 (__________________________ OR __________________________)
AND Concept 3 (___________________________OR___________________________)
Synonyms to Consider in Physical Therapy
Use the tutorials linked in the guide below to learn how to do a search in various databases.
For a more in-depth search, contact the health sciences librarian for a consultation.
Stop words are words that the database has been programmed to ignore in a search string or query.
Avoid using these stop words in your search query:
Focus on combining keywords or short key phrases (tip: put quotation marks around a phrase).
Tell the database what you want by using the filters. You already know what you want from when you did the pre-searching exercises. Your assignment may also have specific directions about what sources to use.
Use the database's filters to make your results list more specific and conform to what sources you need.
The most commonly used filters are
You may also want to use filters to find certain types of studies. PubMed and CINAHL both have filters for finding systematic reviews, randomized control trials and other types of studies.
Try adding some of these special characters into your search
You should also use subject headings to create a more powerful search. A subject heading is a word or phrase assigned to a topic. An item is tagged with the subject heading to describe what the item is about.
For example, pressure injury, pressure wound, pressure sore, and pressure ulcer are all terms used interchangeably. A subject heading designates one term or phrase to describe this topic.
The collections of subject headings you will use in health sciences are
Using a combination of subject headings and keywords makes your search query more powerful.
The resources linked below demonstrate using subject headings in CINAHL and PubMed.
Popular Subject Headings for Physical Therapy
| Keyword/Search term | MeSH term | Definition |
|---|---|---|
| physical therapy |
"Physical Therapy Modalities"[Mesh] |
Therapeutic modalities frequently used in PHYSICAL THERAPY SPECIALTY by PHYSICAL THERAPISTS or physiotherapists to promote, maintain, or restore the physical and physiological well-being of an individual. |
| physical therapist | "Physical Therapists"[Mesh] | Persons trained in PHYSICAL THERAPY SPECIALTY to make use of PHYSICAL THERAPY MODALITIES to prevent, correct, and alleviate movement dysfunction. |
| therapeutic exercise | "Exercise Therapy"[Mesh] | A regimen or plan of physical activities designed and prescribed for specific therapeutic goals. Its purpose is to restore normal musculoskeletal function or to reduce pain caused by diseases or injuries. |
| balance | "Postural Balance"[Mesh] | A POSTURE in which an ideal body mass distribution is achieved. Postural balance provides the body carriage stability and conditions for normal functions in stationary position or in movement, such as sitting, standing, or walking. |
| training | "Exercise Movement Techniques"[Mesh] | Methods or programs of physical activities which can be used to promote, maintain, or restore the physical and physiological well-being of an individual. |
| strengthening | "Resistance Training"[Mesh] | A type of strength-building exercise program that requires the body muscle to exert a force against some form of resistance, such as weight, stretch bands, water, or immovable objects. Resistance exercise is a combination of static and dynamic contractions involving shortening and lengthening of skeletal muscles. |
| stretching | "Muscle Stretching Exercises"[Mesh] | Exercises that stretch the muscle fibers with the aim to increase muscle-tendon FLEXIBILITY, improve RANGE OF MOTION or musculoskeletal function, and prevent injuries. There are various types of stretching techniques including active, passive (relaxed), static, dynamic (gentle), ballistic (forced), isometric, and others. |
| manual therapy | "Musculoskeletal Manipulations"[Mesh] | Various manipulations of body tissues, muscles and bones by hands or equipment to improve health and circulation, relieve fatigue, promote healing. |
| physical therapy profession | "Physical Therapy Specialty"[Mesh] | The auxiliary health profession by which PHYSICAL THERAPISTS make use of PHYSICAL THERAPY MODALITIES to prevent, correct, and alleviate movement dysfunction of anatomic or physiological origin. |
| physical therapy techniques | "Physical Therapy Modalities"[Mesh] | Therapeutic modalities frequently used in PHYSICAL THERAPY SPECIALTY by PHYSICAL THERAPISTS or physiotherapists to promote, maintain, or restore the physical and physiological well-being of an individual |
| flexibility | "Pliability"[Mesh] | The quality or state of being able to be bent or creased repeatedly. |
| range of motion, joint flexibility | "Range of Motion, Articular"[Mesh] | The distance and direction to which a bone joint can be extended. Range of motion is a function of the condition of the joints, muscles, and connective tissues involved. Joint flexibility can be improved through appropriate MUSCLE STRETCHING EXERCISE |
| Goniometry | "Arthrometry, Articular"[Mesh] | Measurements of joint flexibility (RANGE OF MOTION, ARTICULAR), usually by employing an angle-measuring device (arthrometer). Arthrometry is used to measure ligamentous laxity and stability. |
| outcome, clinical effectiveness | "Treatment Outcome"[Mesh] | Evaluation undertaken to assess the results or consequences of management and procedures used in combating disease in order to determine the efficacy, effectiveness, safety, and practicability of these interventions in individual cases or series. |
Note: Subject headings can also be problematic as these terms do not change very often. Subject terms are often biased, especially when describing people. It is possible that an item may be tagged with a subject term that is antiquated. Librarians work to get these terms updated with the authorizing body but it takes a lot of time and effort so the change is not as fast as we would like.
Reference tracking (also called pearl-growing or snowballing) is another search method. This is when you use references from one source to find more sources. When you find an article that is on your topic, look at the references section to determine if there are sources that would be good for you to use for your project. If you find sources that you'd like to use, search for them to get the full text from the library. This can be especially helpful when you find a systematic review on your topic as reviews have extensive reference sections. You can also search for articles that cited that article. Both Google Scholar and PubMed offer "cited by" features. (Tip: PubMed also recommends "Similar Articles" but these articles are not always within the filters you have set.)