The Cullom-Davis Library at Bradley University provides access to full-text articles. Do not pay for access to articles. There are a few ways to get the full text.
1. Look for the "full-text" link in the database.
2. Use the "Get it @ BU" link to view options on how to access the full text. There are 3 options
Use all options to access the full text you need for your project/assignment.
If you need to interlibrary loan an item, the library uses a system called ILLiad for this process. If you have never used ILLiad, here are some instructions.
Tip: Make sure you use the customized for Bradley PubMed link so that you see the "Get it @ BU" links. (directions linked below)
Biomedical and health sciences articles. This version has been customized for our library so that the Get It @ Bradley link will appear.
Tip: Add Bradley University to your Google Scholar account so that you see the "Get it @ BU" links. (directions linked below)
Tip: Before requesting an item through interlibrary loan, do a quick Google search to determine if there is an open-access version. You can also add the "Unpaywall" extension to your Chrome browser to help find open-access versions. (directions linked below)
You will be searching in many different databases and with different search engines. Keeping a log of your searching helps you track what you have searched where. An example of a search log is linked below.
Most databases have a way for you to save your search or export your results. If it is just a few articles, you can use the email feature built into the database or the static link/permalink feature.
If you need to export an entire results list, follow the directions linked below.
Zotero is citation management software to help you manage, organize and cite resources. The library has an entire guide dedicated to Zotero use the link below to access it.
To find an article/book from a citation in the BU collection
1. Copy the title or doi (not the link, just the number) of the article. For books copy the title or the ISBN.
2. Paste the title (or doi or ISBN) into the library's "Almost Everything" search or Google Scholar (with your Google Scholar Account set up for the "Get it @ BU" link)
3. Follow the directions on how to access the item.
If the article is not in the results list, you can enter the article's details directly into your ILLIAD to request it via interlibrary loan.
If you are looking for a book and the Cullom-Davis library does not have it, search for it in I-Share and request it from another library. If an I-Share library does not have it you can enter the book's details directly into your ILLIAD to request it via interlibrary loan. To interlibrary loan a book, you will need to pick it up from the library, ebooks cannot be requested through interlibrary loan.
