Kinesiology & Health Science

The Cullom-Davis Library at Bradley University provides access to full-text articles. Do not pay for access to articles. There are a few ways to get the full text.

1. Look for the "full-text" link in the database.

2. Use the "Get it @ BU" link to view options on how to access the full text. There are 3 options

1. Full text is available in another database (immediate access)
2. The library can purchase the item through "Get it Now" (takes a few hours and you are notified by email when you can access the full text)
3. The library can interlibrary loan the item from another library (takes a few days and you are notified by email when you can access the full text)

Use all options to access the full text you need for your project/assignment.

Tip: Before requesting an item through interlibrary loan, do a quick Google search to determine if there is an open-access version. You can also add the "Unpaywall" extension to your Chrome browser to help find open-access versions. (directions linked below)

Tip: Make sure you use the customized for Bradley PubMed link so that you see the "Get it @ BU" links. (directions linked below)

Tip: Add Bradley University to your Google Scholar account so that you see the "Get it @ BU" links. (directions linked below)

Requesting Physical Items

I-Share is the system you use to request items from other libraries.  Instructions on how to place requests for items through I-Share can be found here or you can contact the Research Help Desk for help.  You will be notified once the item has arrived at the library, then you can pick up the item(s) at the Check Out Desk using your Bradley ID during regular business hours. 

Getting Full-Text Articles 

If you encounter an article that doesn't have full-text (PDF) available, there are steps you can take to find access or request the full text from the library.

• If you are in a library database when you click on the Get it @ Bradley button.  On the item's library record, an option for you to get access to the full text will be listed. There are 3 possibilities.
  1. there is a link to a journal package and the link should take you to the article.
  2. there is a link that states 'Request through Interlibrary Loan...',
  3. there is a link for Get it Now.

'BU can buy the article' uses Get It Now which requires you to use your BU email.

'Request through Interlibrary Loan' uses ILLiad. If you have never used ILLiad, Here are some instructions.