overview of a topic
background information
history and chronology
In-depth coverage of a topic
The entire book does not need to be read to be used for research. Use the table of contents and index to find the pages most relevant to your research.
Not all books are used for the same purposes. Get the right book for your project.
|
Book Type |
Description |
|---|---|
|
General Collection and Oversized |
A print book in the library's collection. Can be checked out for 28 days (plus renewals) using your BU ID card. |
|
eBooks |
An electronic book that can be accessed online anywhere you have an Internet connection. Some e-books in the collection allow for multiple users and others only allow one user at a time. |
|
Reference Books and eBooks |
A reference book is a resource to get specific facts of an overview of a subject. Reference resources are used to get the background information you need on a subject. Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, handbooks, almanacs, and bibliographies. Print reference books cannot be checked out. eBook reference material can be used anywhere you have an Internet connection. |
|
Reserve Books |
Items on reserve in the library are high-use items. They are materials directly related to coursework from faculty members. |
|
Special Collection |
Special Collection books are items that are rare, unique, and/or historical. These items do not circulate but can be viewed in the library. |
Most books on Physical Therapy are classified as QP 301-QP 303; RA 781; RD 97; RD 731-RD 736; and RM 695-RM 733 in the Library of Congress Classification. Print books will be located lower level of the library.
Ebooks for nursing, allied health and medicine topics.