LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Additional Resources

Point-of-Care Resources

PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching.

Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care tool and reference resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and sports medicine professionals.

Agency for Healthcare Quality and Research (AHRQ)
Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
The Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) specializes in evidence synthesis, assembling, and evaluating data from multiple research studies to generate robust evidence to inform health policy and practice.
Guideline Central
Guideline Central is the world’s largest Free Library of up-to-date guideline summaries! They partner with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools .
NARIC (National Rehabilitation Information Center)
NARIC is an open-access library published by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research. It's home to the REHABDATA database, which includes resources of particular importance for occupational therapy and physical therapy research.

PEDro This link opens in a new window
Trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
PubMed @ Bradley This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and health sciences articles. This version has been customized for our library so that the Get It @ Bradley link will appear.

ECRI Guideline Trust
A portal to expertly vetted, evidence-based guideline briefs and scorecards. (formerly the National Guidelines Clearinghouse)

Critically appraised topics (CATs) are very brief reviews that summarize the current best evidence on an intervention or diagnosis.

CATs are quick, compared to other reviews, and they should still follow these steps:

Define a clear, concise, and focused question – use a search framework such as PICO to help you with this.
Develop a search strategy – identify search terms, work out how to combine them, and select a limited number of appropriate databases.
Identify the relevant studies that help answer your question.
Critically appraise the located evidence – describe and appraise the included studies. (Often the appraisal is limited to the methodological appropriateness of each study).
Summarize your findings – what’s the “bottom line” suggested by the evidence?

* this list is based on info from the Libguide "Systematic and Systematic-like Reviews", Charles Sturt University, https://libguides.csu.edu.au/systematicreviews/cats

AOTA's Evidence-based practice & knowledge translation
Brief critical appraisals and syntheses of articles that include key findings and the bottom line for occupational therapy practice.

McMaster University School of Rehabilitation Science Evidence-Based Practice Research Group
OT Seeker Evidence-Based Practice Resources (Video Tutorials & Tip Sheets)
University of Minnesota Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial
Yale University's Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library has some helpful videos about conducting a systematic review and how to conduct systematic searches of health sciences evidence

The library offers a variety of resources for studying anatomy.

The library has a growing collection of 3D anatomy models. You can view all the models available on the Anatomy Model guide.

Anatomy Models Guide
A listing of all the 3D anatomy models available at the Collum-Davis Library.

Learning Tools

Visible Body This link opens in a new window
Interactive visualization tool for anatomy and physiology. NOTE: This resources uses http, not https, so you may get an error. Try a different web browser.

Websites

Get Body Smart
Anatomy and Physiology animations to illustrate bodily systems and structures
Human Body Maps
Detailed interactive web app that allows for 3D study of the human body.

Free Android Apps

Free IPhone/IPad Apps

Finding Evidence-based Information for Health Sciences Students
Open Access ebook. This series of information literacy modules will help post-secondary students in the health sciences (especially Nursing) find and use reliable information for class assignments. It covers the essential steps from developing a topic to searching databases to evaluating resources to writing an academic paper and citing sources in APA style.

How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781119484745
Publication Date: 2019-05-06
How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings.

ClinicalTrials.gov
MedlinePlus Clinical Trials
Medline Plus health topic page for clinical trials
Healthy People 2030
"The Healthy People initiative began in 1979 when Surgeon General Julius Richmond issued a landmark report titled “Healthy People: The Surgeon General’s Report on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention.” Healthy People 2030 is the fifth iteration of the initiative. It builds on knowledge gained and lessons learned to address the latest public health priorities."
FDA Approved Drugs (Center Watch)
Contains a listing of drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for sale in the United States. Drug information typically includes the drug name, approval status, indication of use, and clinical trial results.

Calculate by QxMD
Clinical calculator & decision support tool (also available as an app)
EBM Calculators
Odds Radio to NNT Converter
Diagnostic Test Calculator
Prospective Study Calculator
Case Control Study Calculator
RCT Calculator
Diagnostic Test Calculator
This calculator can determine diagnostic test characteristics (sensitivity, specificity, likelihood ratios) and/or determine the post-test probability of disease given given the pre-test probability and test characteristics. Given sample sizes, confidence intervals are also computed.
EBM Tools
Evidence-Based Medicine tools and guides from the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine at the University of Oxford.
Formulas for Therapy Trials
Formulas for EER, CER, RR, RRR, ARR, and NNT.

Choosing the right statistical test
A table showing general guidelines for choosing a statistical analysis from UCLA.
Statistical Software Tutorials
Tutorials from Truman State. A PDF file will open with the step-by-step tutorial for the given statistical topic.
Do we have access to data processing software to gather and analyze quantitative and qualitative data?
Software is available for Bradley University students and employees.