LibGuides: Public Health Education: Recommended Web Resources

PolicyMap

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a cloud-based data and mapping platform that facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, and reports.

PolicyMap enables users to create maps and provides access to more than 37,000 indicators related to demographics, income/spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, jobs, crime, and education. The data is available across a wide range of geographies (address, block groups, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) in addition to school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries.

This 4-minute video tutorial gives an overview of using PolicyMap.

Illinois Resources

https://academicguides.waldenu.edu/library/healthpolicy/intro Health Policy

US Resources

Community/Public Health

Public Health Professionals Gateway (CDC)
State & Territorial Health Department Websites
Links to health departments in all 50 states, 8 US territories and freely associated states, and the District of Columbia.
CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
Database of Interventions (CDC)
The CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator (CHI Navigator) Database of Interventions is a tool that helps you identify interventions that work in four action areas. Socioeconomic Factors; Physical Environment; Health Behaviors; Clinical Care. Target Risk Factors.
Health Literacy (health.gov)
We create, promote, and curate evidence-based health literacy and communication tools, practices, and research for health professionals. Use our resources to find effective strategies for sharing health information in ways that people can understand and use.
Health Literacy Online (Health.gov)
This research-based guide will help you develop intuitive health websites and digital tools that can be easily accessed and understood by all users — including the millions of Americans who struggle to find, process, and use online health information.
NACCHO Toolbox
Welcome to the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) Toolbox, a free, online collection of public health tools that have been created and shared by members of the public health community. Using the search function below, you can explore a range of resources and tools.
Healthy Aging (Health.gov)
"Promoting health and preventing disease in older Americans is key to the health of the nation. That’s why healthy aging is a national priority for ODPHP — and why we support initiatives designed to help older adults live longer and stay healthy."
Coalition of National Health Education Organizations (CNHEO)
The Coalition has as its primary mission the mobilization of the resources of the Health Education Profession in order to expand and improve health education, regardless of setting.
State Snapshot (AHRQ)
The State Snapshots provide State-specific healthcare quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand healthcare quality and disparities in their State.
State Policy Database
The NASBE State Policy Database on School Health is a searchable database of all existing state statutory and regulatory language on student health aligned to components of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s framework for school health promotion, known as the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child (WSCC) model.
Policy Statement Database (APHA)
Policy Statements beginning in 1948 to the present are available in our Policy Statement Database. You can search the database by year, policy number or keyword.

General Health

MedLinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. The website can be viewed in English or Spanish. Materials in additional languages are also included.
Health.Gov
Health.gov is your portal for health-related resources and news from the U.S. government
Healthy People 2030
"The Healthy People initiative began in 1979 when Surgeon General Julius Richmond issued a landmark report titled “Healthy People: The Surgeon General’s Report on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention.” Healthy People 2030 is the fifth iteration of the initiative. It builds on knowledge gained and lessons learned to address the latest public health priorities."
Health Resouces & Services Administration (HRSA)
HRSA programs provide equitable health care to people who are geographically isolated and economically or medically vulnerable.
Health Finder
Health and Human Services (HHS)
The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.
National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
The National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR) ensures that the NLM products address the information needs of the health services research workforce.

Medications/Drugs

DailyMed
The National Library of Medicine (NLM)’s DailyMed searchable database provides the most recent labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies and currently in use (i.e., "in use" labeling). DailyMed contains labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, cosmetics, dietary supplements, and medical foods.
RxList - The Internet Drug Index
From WebMD, this site includes information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbs, and supplements, searchable by generic and brand name. It also has a pill identifier tool.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.

Images

Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
PHIL provides an organized, universal electronic gateway to the CDC's pictures.
Public Health Media Library (CDC)
Free credible health content for your
websites, apps, & social media
MedPix
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

Health and Education Statistics

Health, United States
The Health, United States program provides national trends in health statistics.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics.
KFF State Health Facts Online
A Kaiser Family Foundation resource for health data in all 50 states. State-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
National Center for Educational Statistics
The NCES Kids' Zone provides information to help you learn about schools; decide on a college; engage in several games, quizzes and skill building about math, probability, graphing, and mathematicians; and to learn many interesting facts about education.
FastStats (CDC)
Selected statistics on a variety of health topics.
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports
The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care.
Community Health Advisor
The Community Health Advisor website helps you identify policies and programs that may have the biggest effect on health and medical costs where you live. This site is for anyone working to improve community health. It will help you identify which policies and programs to advocate for and invest in based on their impact in your county, state or nation. Pick a location, a health topic that interests you, and a policy or program, and create your own detailed, customized results in seconds.
Population Reference Bureau Resource LIbrary
Search the Resource Library for data and policy products on population, health, and environment issues. Browse collections, explore policy briefs, watch videos, and put the data in context.

Nutrition/Diet

Nutrition.gov - National Agricultural Library
Provides online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, supplements, and herbs. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory
Create a printable list of foods and nutrients which can be sorted either by food name or in descending order by nutrient content.

Mental Health

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.
SAMHSA
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Consumer Health

Consumer Health Guide
This Consumer Health Guide is intended to help you find information about consumer health and related subjects. This is health care information for patients.

Specific Populations

Tribal Public Health
Collection of law and policy resources related to tribal public health.
Women’s Health.gov
National Women’s Health Information Center of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services offers statistical information as well as coverage of women’s health topics and issues, health organizations, funding resources, and publications. It provides information in Spanish and has a site for girls, Girls Health.gov at http://www.4girls.gov.
Office of Minority Health
The mission of the US Department of Health & Human Services Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
Native Health Database
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
KIDS COUNT
KIDS COUNT® is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families.
CDC’s Health Aging
Centers for Disease Control's website has statistics and research information, a copy of the latest State of Aging and Health in America report, information on the Healthy Brain Initiative, lists of organizations, information on end of life issues, lists of organizations, and links to articles and reports. Information on joining the Public Health and Aging listserv is provided.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health
Data portal for the National Survey of Children's Health.
Healthy Aging (Health.gov)
"Promoting health and preventing disease in older Americans is key to the health of the nation. That’s why healthy aging is a national priority for ODPHP — and why we support initiatives designed to help older adults live longer and stay healthy."
National Institute on Aging
An easy-to-use website features health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

International Resources

WHO MiNDbank
"A database of resources covering mental health, substance abuse, disability, general health, human rights, and development" from the World Health Organization.
WHO Mortality Database
The WHO Mortality Database is a compilation of mortality data by country and area, year, sex, age, and cause of death, as transmitted annually by national authorities from their civil registration and vital statistics system. It comprises data since 1950 to date.
Global Health and Human Rights Database
A free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights
WHO Global Health Observatory
The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
UNdata
UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point
International Health Care System Profiles
"A resource for learning about health care systems around the world. Users can find information on how nations organize, govern, and finance their health systems; efforts to improve quality of care, contain costs, and reduce racial and ethnic disparities; innovations in health care delivery; and other recent reforms."

Organizations

Society for public health education - SOPHE
Provides leadership to the profession of health education and health promotion professionals.
American Public Health Association (APHA)
The American Public Health Association champions the health of all people and all communities.
Eta Sigma Gamma
National health education honorary