LibGuides: Public Health Education: Finding Articles

Databases

Use your search strategy to find articles and other digital resources in the databases listed below.

Health

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text (New UI) This link opens in a new window
Premier collection of nursing and allied health journal articles. New Ebsco Interface.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive full-text resource for consumer-oriented health content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine."
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and reports on education topics, 1966 - today.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles for a range of nursing specialties.
PubMed @ Bradley This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and health sciences articles. This version has been customized for our library so that the Get It @ Bradley link will appear.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly biomedical journals.

Mulltidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other resources for all academic subjects, from 1887 to today. Classic EBSCO interface.
PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window
Mostly full history of 70 scholarly journals by the American Psychology Association, APA.

Legal

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Company information (reports and industry news), legal information (US and international case law, statutes, reviews) and news (US and international newspapers, TV/radio transcripts).

Surveys/Tests/Inventories/Questionaires

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive list of testing instruments for education and psychology. Includes reviews but not full-text of tests.

Search Tips - Subject Headings

You should also use subject headings to create a more powerful search. A subject heading is a word or phrase assigned to a topic. An item is tagged with the subject heading to describe what the item is about.

For example, pressure injury, pressure wound, pressure sore, and pressure ulcer are all terms used interchangeably. A subject heading designates one term or phrase to describe this topic.

The collections of subject headings you will use in health sciences are

CINAHL Subject Headings --used in CINAHL
Medical Subject Headings or MeSH --used in PubMed and other medical databases
Library of Congress Subject Headings or LCSH -- used in the library catalog

Using a combination of subject headings and keywords makes your search query more powerful.

The resources linked below demonstrate using subject headings in CINAHL and PubMed.

Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings
Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query
3-minute video from PubMed about searching with MeSH terms.

Some helpful MeSH Terms are:

MeSH Subheadings

MeSH Subheadings are qualifiers that can be attached to MeSH Terms. They are used to describe an aspect of a MeSH Term. Some helpful subheadings are:

Note: Subject headings can also be problematic as these terms do not change very often. Subject terms are often biased, especially when describing people. It is possible that an item may be tagged with a subject term that is antiquated. Librarians work to get these terms updated with the authorizing body but it takes a lot of time and effort so the change is not as fast as we would like.