LibGuides: Free Databases (all subjects): Health

Health, Medical, Nursing

Autism Data
"The National Autistic Society's database of 17,000+ journal articles, papers, books and multimedia on autism, is open for all to access on the web. The contents include bibliographic records of all the items in The National Autistic Society Information Centre Library, together with the details of research articles on autism
published in journals which are not part of their holdings. Every entry has an abstract and has been assigned keywords to help with searching."
BioMed Central
Free access to the highly rated journals published by BioMed Central.
Canary Database
"contains studies in the biomedical literature that explore the use of wildlife, domestic, and companion animals as "sentinels" for the effects of chemical, biological, and physical hazards in the environment that may be a risk to human health."
Free Medical Journals
Promoting free access to medical journals. Provides links to many journals that are available free online, either completely or partially.
Global Health and Human Rights Database
A free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights
IPUMS
"IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge."
Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database
An "annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in medical humanities." Many annotations include links to art images.
National Academies Press
Free download of all PDFs in education, science, medicine, engineering and more.
more...less...
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. The institutions represented by the NAP are unique in that they attract the nation’s leading experts in every field to serve on their award-wining panels and committees. The nation turns to the work of NAP for definitive information on everything from space science to animal nutrition.
National Database for Autism Research
National Database for Autism Research (NDAR) is an NIH-funded research data repository that aims to accelerate progress in autism spectrum disorders (ASD) research through data sharing, data harmonization, and the reporting of research results.
Native Health Database
Bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
NCBI: Bookshelf
A collection of free online biomedical textbooks courtesy of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Peristats - March of Dimes
Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center; it provides free access to US, state, city, and county maternal & infant health data.
PLoS
The Public Library of Science provides free access to the full-text of all of their highly rated journals.
PTSDpubs
An index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
PubMed
Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, life science journals, molecular biology databases, full text articles (fees may be required) and other related Web resources. Searches may be limited to specific areas of medicine, such as AIDS, bioethics, cancer, complementary medicine, history of medicine, or space life sciences. Covers 1951 to present.
PubMed Central
Digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material varies by journal.
Tobacco Industry Tracking Database
United Nations iLibrary
UN iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations

Kinesiology and Physical Education

Gatorade Sports Science Institute
With the goal of "sharing knowledge on sports nutrition and exercise science," this site contains a library of research and resources from Gatorade scientists.
MedlinePlus Guide to Sports Injuries
Published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this site features treatment and prevention information for many common sports injuries. The site also includes research, statistics, and news related to athletic safety and injury prevention.

Gerontology

AARP
Wide variety of healthcare, travel, political, and financial information related to aging.