Free Databases (all subjects)

Free access to the highly rated journals published by BioMed Central.

A program that inventories the status and locations of rare plants and animals in California.

Digital copies of Darwin's library including his handwritten notes.

"On this site you can read and search the full texts of more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters...

ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.

The Public Library of Science provides free access to the full-text of all of their highly rated journals.

Features major headlines and news stories for all scientific disciplines, including laboratory science, environmental science, health science, and computer science. The site features easy sorting options, is updated continuously, and provides thorough source information for all stories.

ScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science IndicatorsSM from Thomson Reuters and other products of the Research Services Group.

Contains citations and abstracts to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Covers 1970-present.

The AEL is a public Zotero bibliography that includes references on the biology, ecology and management of the African elephant.

From New York Public Library, digital images.

ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.

Provides information on diurnal raptors (hawks, eagles, and falcons).