LibGuides: ENC 703 / 704: Action Research: Finding Articles

Finding Articles - Great Databases for Doctoral Education Research

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and reports on education topics, 1966 - today.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other resources for all academic subjects, from 1887 to today. Classic EBSCO interface.
Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook has full-text reviews and descriptions for testing instruments used in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Use it to learn more about a test, including what kind of measurements it uses, what it attempts to measure, and to whom the test might be given.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other articles in education and librarianship.

Find a Specific Article

If you need to find a specific article - say, one that you saw cited in another article and want to read - the Articles search in the library catalog can help you locate it. You can search for a specific article either of these ways:

search by title of article
search by article DOI (Digital Object Identifier - like an ID number for a specific article)

A DOI is much more focused search, but not every article has a DOI. If the Articles search doesn't find the article for you, try the options in the More Ways to Find and Access Articles box on this page.

You can use the Articles search either from the Articles tab on the library homepage search box:

Or, if you are already in the catalog, by choosing the "Articles" options from the dropdown menu after the catalog search box:

Finding Specific Articles PDF Version
A text and image based version of the finding specific articles tutorial, including the Articles search, A-Z Journal List, and Google Scholar.

List of Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
If you are looking for articles in a specific publication, you can see if we subscribe to that publication here and navigate to the articles that way.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for articles across a very large number of journals and other publications. However, it can't provide full-text by itself, so follow the written tutorial below for how to get more full-text through Google Scholar.

How to Get Bradley Library Resources Through Google Scholar
Instructions to set up Google Scholar so that links to full-text articles in library databases will appear.

Can't Find a Specific Article You Need? Request It!

Bradley Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
If we do not have access to an article, request it here.

Requesting Articles through ILLiad
A written tutorial for how to request articles from the databases using the Interlibrary Loan system, called ILLiad.

About Using the Databases

ERIC Tutorial - PDF Version
A text and image based version of the ERIC tutorial for using offline.

ERIC Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How to Use Academic Search Complete

Mental Measurements Tutorial (PDF)