Consumer Health

An independent, not-for-profit organization serving persons of all ages, incomes and abilities in Fulton, Marshall, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford Counties.

The Illinois Department on Aging helps older adults live independently in their own homes and communities. As the population ages, services and programs for older adults must evolve as well because longevity means more when quality of life is enhanced.

Information about the regulation of nursing homes, a listing of nursing homes, and how to select a nursing home.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends, produced by the National Library of Medicine

National Library of Medicine (NLM)'s website contains links to trustworthy information throughout the web, links to the latest news, overviews of senior health
issues, research, statistics, aging organizations, clinical trials, and more. Links guide you to pre-formatted searches on PubMed This page is also available in Spanish.

An easy-to-use website features health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

Multiple HHS agencies provide programs that improve the well-being of seniors. Learn more about programs for seniors and locate resources.

Information on Rx savings, medicare, medigap and choosing a drug discount card.

Department of Health and Human Services Administration on Aging provides information on finding various elder care programs locations, elder rights & resources, promoting a health lifestyle, national and state benefits and services for seniors, long-term care insurance, and caregiver support programs.

For caregivers of parents, and other older adults. Provides information on most common health issues, as financial concerns, housing options, ansd more.

American Geriatrics Society Foundation

Centers for Disease Control's website has statistics and research information, a copy of the latest State of Aging and Health in America report, information on the Healthy Brain Initiative, lists of organizations, information on end of life issues, lists of organizations, and links to articles and reports. Information on joining the Public Health and Aging listserv is provided.

The official U.S. government site for people with Medicare contains information on Medicare health plans, the Medicare drug benefit, Medigap insurance plans, links to state information, long term care information, full text of pamphlets, online forms to request a
replacement Medicare card, to change an address or to determine eligibility.

Information, services and support for caregivers and families, Offers fact sheets in English, Spanish and Chinese on various conditions. As an advocacy group it also offers statistics, public policy and reports. It includes caregiver advice and tips (also in Spanish and
Chinese) and hosts online discussion groups.

GMHFas established by the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry to raise awareness of psychiatric and mental health disorders affecting the elderly, eliminate the stigma of mental illness and treatment, promote healthy aging strategies,and increase access to quality mental health care for the elderly. Their website nas information on finding a geriatric psychiatrist, and some fact sheets in Spanish.

Information and tips on healthy aging, caregiving, medications, dietary supplements and diseases are included. Resources are available in both English and Spanish. Copies also are provided in PDF format where applicable. Print versions are available for online ordering. Health and aging organization database lists more than 300 national organizations that provide help to older people.

MayoClinic.com

This site from the American Automobile Association (AAA) Foundation for Traffic Safety links seniors to tools for assessing their driving skills; it also offers advice, exercises, and lessons to help them drive safely for as long as possible. Alternatives for seniors who can no longer drive safely are provided, and there is a database of relevant state regulations. Many printable PDFs are included.