Consumer Health

Up-to-date information on FDA-approved and investigational HIV/AIDS-related drugs for health care providers and patients.

Contains a listing of drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for sale in the United States. Drug information typically includes the drug name, approval status, indication of use, and clinical trial results.

The National Library of Medicine (NLM)’s DailyMed searchable database provides the most recent labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies and currently in use (i.e., "in use" labeling). DailyMed contains labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, cosmetics, dietary supplements, and medical foods.

The FDA oversees the regulation of pharmaceutical and food products and medical devices. The site has both professional and consumer information on topics such as specific drugs, taking medications safely, buying generic drugs, and saving money on prescriptions. It includes a guide to buying drugs safely online, information about recalls and product safety, and drug-drug, and drug-food interactions.

From Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, this site provides an index to evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and other medicines. The information is at the professional level from articles in clinical medical journals.

In-depth monographs about herbal products and supplements written by health professionals and students. It provides clinical information summaries, patient fact sheets, and information about toxicity and interactions as well as relevant links. The task force is a cooperative effort of the staff and students from Children’s Hospital, the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and the Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

A clearinghouse for information about the various assistance programs available from pharmaceutical manufacturers for patients who cannot afford medications. It also has information about government assistance programs and coupons.

The NLM Drug Portal offers a comprehensive database of prescription and non-prescription drugs, including vitamins and supplements. Users may search by generic or brand name and obtain information from the NLM databases, the FDA, the DEA, and other government sources.

This site from the Physician's Desk Reference includes information for health consumers about prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbal medicines, and supplements.

From WebMD, this site includes information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbs, and supplements, searchable by generic and brand name. It also has a pill identifier tool.

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Drugs.com's Pill Identifier allows users to search for a drug by shape, color, and imprint, with a database of images that help identify unlabeled medication.

Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.