LibGuides: Chemistry: Finding Articles

Article Databases

The most popular database at BU for chemistry is CAS SciFinder (previously called "SciFinder Scholar").

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical substance information and related literature. User registration is required. Follow these directions to register for your CAS SciFinder account.

Search Tips for SciFinder
Searching in CAS SciFinder help.
SciFinder Training
These on-demand SciFinder training resources are short, targeted materials, organized by search type.

Additional databases with chemistry information.

Academic Search Complete (New UI) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other resources for all academic subjects, from 1887 to today. New Ebsco Interface.
American Chemical Society journals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from the American Chemical Society.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a comprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research. It is a highly interactive comprehensive scientific resource, containing over 700 interactive tables in over 450 documents.
PubMed @ Bradley This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and health sciences articles. This version has been customized for our library so that the Get It @ Bradley link will appear.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and links to articles from journals across multiple disciplines. Extensive coverage of many disciplines from1966-today.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly bioscience journal articles.

Getting Books and Articles hidden

Requesting Physical Items

I-Share is the system you use to request items from other libraries. Instructions on how to place requests for items through I-Share can be found here or you can contact the Research Help Desk for help. You will be notified once the item has arrived at the library, then you can pick up the item(s) at the Check Out Desk using your Bradley ID during regular business hours.

Getting Full-Text Articles

If you encounter an article that doesn't have full-text (PDF) available, there are steps you can take to find access or request the full text from the library.

If you are in a library database when you click on the Get it @ Bradley button. On the item's library record, an option for you to get access to the full text will be listed. There are 3 possibilities.
1. there is a link to a journal package and the link should take you to the article.
2. there is a link that states 'Request through Interlibrary Loan...',
3. there is a link for Get it Now.

'BU can buy the article' uses Get It Now which requires you to use your BU email.

'Request through Interlibrary Loan' uses ILLiad. If you have never used ILLiad, follow these instructions.

Bradley Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
If we do not have access to an article, request it here.

Requesting Articles through ILLiad
A written tutorial for how to request articles from the databases using the Interlibrary Loan system, called ILLiad.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful way to do a broad search and see what's available on your topic. However, it doesn't directly provide access to the full-text of articles, and you will often hit paywalls.

If you use Google Scholar, use the customized link so that the "Get it @ Bradley" links will appear in the results. "Get it @ Bradley" links you to access the library for full-text access or to request the item through interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar @ Bradley This link opens in a new window
Google for scholarly articles and books. Connects to Bradley subscriptions as well as free content.