LibGuides: SCI: Science Through Inquiry: Accessing Full Text &amp; Interlibrary Loan

Access Full Text

Articles

The Cullom-Davis Library at Bradley University provides access to full-text articles. Do not pay for access to articles. There are a few ways to get the full text. Use all options to access the full text you need for your project/assignment.

1. Look for the "full-text" link in the database.

2. Use the "Get it @ BU" link to view options on how to access the full text. There are 3 options

Full text is available in another library database/collection (immediate access)
The library can purchase the item through "Get it Now" (takes a few hours and you are notified by email when you can access the full text)
The library can interlibrary loan the item from another library using the ILLiad system (takes a few days and you are notified by email when you can access the full text)

Requesting Articles through ILLiad
A written tutorial for how to request articles from the databases using the Interlibrary Loan system, called ILLiad.

Tip: Before requesting an item through interlibrary loan, do a quick Google search to determine if there is an open-access version. You can also add the "Unpaywall" extension to your Chrome browser to help find open-access versions. (directions linked below)

Unpaywall
Unpaywall harvests Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and us

Tip: Add Bradley University to your Google Scholar account so that you see the "Get it @ BU" links. (directions linked below)

How to Get Bradley Library Resources Through Google Scholar
Link results in Google Scholar to the Cullom-Davis Library collection to avoid paywalls.

Google Scholar
"Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web."

Books

Physical books are located in the Cullom-Davis Library building. Most of the books are in the General Collection. These are the books in the library's basement. Oversized books are also in the basement. New books and some graphic novels are on the main floor of the library near the Stacks Cafe. Curriculum Center books are on the second floor. Books are organized by Library of Congress call numbers. (More information about locating books in the library).

eBooks in the library's collection are available online. Click the access link in the ebook record to access the ebook.

If the Cullom-Davis Library collection does not have the book you want (or only has the ebook and you want a physical copy), use I-Share to borrow books from other libraries and have them sent to the library for you to check out. (More information about borrowing books from other libraries).