Apparel Production and Merchandising

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

The Department of Textile’s collection consists of more than 13,500 objects ranging in date from 300 BC to the present.

The Digital Dress Collection contains images of clothing worn in Michigan during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The items shown here are held in the collections of Wayne State University, The Henry Ford, Detroit Historical Society and Meadowbrook Hall.

The Historic Costume & Textiles Collection in the College of Education and Human Ecology at The Ohio State University is a scholarly and artistic resource of apparel and textile material culture. The 11,500+ holdings in the Geraldine Schottenstein Wing of the Department of Human Sciences’ Campbell Hall encompass a range of three dimensional objects. These include textiles, and articles of clothing and accessories for men, women, and children, including national dress costume, from the mid-18th century to 21st century fashion designers.

The Fashion History Timeline is a project by FIT’s History of Art Department. The Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of fashion and design.

firstVIEW was the web's first runway fashion site and database. More than eight million photographs and hundreds of videos later, our expanding image archive is available to search and browse.

The digital collections of the Fashion Institute of Technology Library's Special Collections and College Archives

More than 300 of our books to read and download for free from the Getty Center's collection.

A web resource looking at 1920s and 1930s fashion and dress as depicted in films from the SASE collection.