LibGuides: Virtual Book Display: Women's History Month

March is Women's History Month

March is Women's History Month. In celebration, we have compiled a list of books/ebooks (non-fiction and fiction) and databases from the Cullom-Davis Library, as well as additional resources, highlighting women throughout history with a range of experiences. More titles are available through searching in the library catalog.

Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to access many different kinds of library resources, including books, ebooks, streaming video, articles, and more.

The library also provides access to the following databases/collections.

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

More than 2,700 authors have written and curated 200,000+ pages of innovative scholarship, primary documents, books, images, essays, book and website reviews, teaching tools, and more.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection II that includes: Cosmopolitan (1886-2005), Essence (1970-2005), Seventeen (1944-2005), Town & country (1846-1951, 1854-1856, 1900-2005), and Woman's day (1937-2005).

Additional Resources and Collections to Visit

Women's History Month (gov)
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance, and celebration of the vital role of women in American history.
American Women: A Guide to Women's History Resources at the Library of Congress
The Library's unique and diverse collections are rich with resources for the study of women's history. This research guide gathers together a collection of topical guides and essays that tell the stories of women in America.
Discovering Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
National Women's History Museum
The National Women’s History Museum (NWHM) is an innovative online museum dedicated to uncovering, interpreting, and celebrating women’s diverse contributions to society.
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
Contains citations and abstracts describing more than nine thousand articles published from 1975 to 2005 in historical and women's studies journals.
National Women's History Alliance
The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion.
National Women's History Project
An educational nonprofit organization that provides information, educational materials, and programs on the diverse and historic accomplishments of women

Virtual Book Display

March is Women's History Month

Game, Set, Match

Hex

Doing Women's Film History

Jobs for Girls with Artistic Flair

A Black Women's History of the United States

Heroines in History

Eve Bites Back

Thanks for Typing

Forgotten Wives

In Defense of Witches

Women in World History

Radio Girl

Women Intellectuals and Leaders in the Middle Ages

Vanguard

Our Voices, Our Histories

Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists

D-Day Girls

Additional Resources and Collections to Visit